Year of Faith: Saints Among Us

As we journey through this Year of Faith — we turn to the Saints who have walked this Earth before us for inspiration for the challenge of living our faith.

This week I offer you a reflection from a former Faculty Member.  Many of you will remember him because you knew him personally – many of you have heard about him -but what we heard of Craig Thornburgh is about his coaching as he lovingly called his players the “varmints.”  Craig was a man of faith and I share with you a reflection he wrote after being diagnosed with terminal cancer.Craig’s last season of coaching Freshman Basketball he went 26-0  He told his players, “I have one more fight ahead and again it is not enough to “WIN”.  I have to have Victory.  Of course Victory is already assured because Jesus said, “Whoever believes in Him shall have Eternal Life”.

Craig goes on to say, “When I became a Catholic about 12 years ago, some friends gave me a statue of St. Joseph.  At that time I dedicated my ministry to St. Joseph, the foster-father of Jesus.  As St. Joseph was entrusted with the child Jesus, aren’t we entrusted with God’s children?  I sincerely hope that in some small way I have treated the ‘varmints’ as St. Joseph would–  I believe in the same way that winning is not the same as victory.  I believe it is not enough to just live as a Christian, but to aspire to be a saint!”

As Craig experienced “Grace and Confidence and Peace”— May this gift be ours today!

About manemessage

MDHS Mane Message
This entry was posted in Campus Ministry, Year of Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

