2011-2012 Mater Dei Mock Trial Team

The 2011-2012 Mater Dei Mock Trial team accomplished something very special this year.  In the last round of qualifying for playoffs, the team was matched up against El Dorado High School. Not only is El Dorado a perennial champion or runner-up in County going back 35 years, it is also the current defending champion. The MD squad was up to the challenge and defeated El Dorado in a tight match, 254-243.

The team went on to single-elimination playoffs where they tied Tesoro High School on points.  The team’s only point loss was against Woodbridge High School, the eventual winner.

We are very proud of the hundreds of hours of practice, the grace and intelligence that team members put in to their mock trial endeavors.  The team accomplished tremendous results in a short period of time together as a team. The team placed in the top eight this year (out of 38 teams!).

Congratulations are also in order for Junior Chase Keller for his sympathetic portrayal of the defendant, Ryan Buschell. Chase received honorable mention for his realistic portrayal of the character.

Congratulations as well to senior Sabrina Nuno for her portrayal of the sassy A.G. Prout. In addition, Sabrina also received honorable mention for her dramatic and entertaining performance. Both students will be recognized at a Mock Trial luncheon sponsored by the Constitutional Rights Foundation.

Faculty moderator, Ms. Diana Valentini and attorney coaches Michaël Fischer and Tony Nicklin, dedicated countless hours in preparing and coaching the team. The team also thanks the Honorable Helios “Joe” Hernandez, II (MD alum), who served as the team’s judicial mentor and the Honorable Sal Sarmiento for all of his invaluable assistance.

We look forward to seeing our Mock Trial team in playoffs next year.  GO MONARCHS!

Mock Trial 2011-2012 Team

Pre-Trial                                                         Bailiff                             Witnesses

Jacqueline Adams (Prosecution)                    Adam Wiviott                 Sabrina Nuno

Ann Bright (Defense)                                                                                 Robert Del Toro

Truman Burke

Attorneys                                                        Clerk                               Chase Keller

Adam Hove                                                       Jeni Lusk                         Trina Ngo

Kendra Hennegan                                                                                      Jaqui Angulo

Jacqueline Adams                                                                                     Jacob Wiviott

Ann Bright

Kylie McCaffrey

Silvana Angulo


About manemessage

MDHS Mane Message
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s